Making Lollipops

Homemade Lollipops

 

Homemade Lollipops

I chose the cake for Jenna’s garden party because it looked very cute and very easy. Little did I know the hard part would be the lollipops: finding simple lollipops to match the inspiration cake and my color scheme proved to be more difficult than I ever expected. Martha’s stylist has access to all of the lollipops of  NYC; I have access to all of the lollipops of Keller, TX. Online stores proved equally disappointing, so I was left with one choice: make my own lollipops.

Lollipop Cake from marthastewart.com

Lollipop Cake from marthastewart.com

It turns out that making candy is pretty easy. I used the following recipe and purchased a circle-shaped lollipop mold:

Recipe:

– 2 cups sugar

– 2/3 corn syrup

– 1/2 cup water

Directions:

Heat everything in a saucepan until it reaches 300 degrees. Use a candy thermometer. Once it reaches 300, you can add food coloring and flavor, if you’d like. Spray the mold with nonstick spray and then place a lollipop stick in each mold. Pour the liquid into the mold, working quickly so it doesn’t cool and get sticky. Place in the fridge and allow to cool completely.

The hard part is achieving the exact color that you want. I made the ginger-color lollipops using one drop of pink, but I was hoping for a very, very pale pink. Because the corn syrup had a slight yellow color to it, I couldn’t create pale colored candy. I only have a couple of days till the party, but I am considering finding a clear corn syrup and making another batch.

The other hard part is the clean up. Maybe there’s a trick to what you do with the leftovers, but removing the hardened liquid from anything its come in contact with is no small chore. I left some of the liquid in a measuring cup overnight, and then decided it was best to just throw the cup away. I also reheated the remaining candy in the pan and it solidified just as I was taking it out. So, here are a few examples of what not to do:

Leftover Candy Mess

Leftover Candy Glob

Upside-down Candy-in-a-Cup

Upside-down Candy-in-a-Cup

Leave a Reply

