They Might Be Giants

Jason in his TMBG No! shirt

Jason in his TMBG No! shirt

No! No! No!

These are my my two-and-a-half-year-old son’s favorite words – yes, ‘words’ plural. The word no seems to  be three words in his vocabulary:

1. No, I’ve considered the options and I’m certain that I don’t want what you’re suggesting.
2. No, I have no opinion on the matter but my first instinct was to say no. That’s my final answer.
3. No, I really mean yes but I don’t want to give you the benefit of knowing that I’m agreeing with you.

So it’s no surprise that the They Might Be Giant’s song, “No! No! No!,” is one of his current favorites.

Last weekend, we found out that They Might Be Giants were playing live in Kansas City (the home of grandma and grandpa), so we piled the whole family into the car and drove 8 hours so that Jason could see one of his favorite bands live.

Here’s what he looked like when TMBG (or ‘be giants’ as my son calls them) took the stage:

He's Going to Bed. Bed! Bed! Bed! Bed!

He's Going to Bed. Bed! Bed! Bed! Bed!

We had driven 8 hours the night before and endured nearly an entire day listening to live children’s music, so we weren’t going to let him sleep through the main event. It took awhile, but my husband finally woke him up and directed his attention to the stage. I’m not sure if he recognized the musicians. I realized during the show that to him, ‘be giants’ are the puppets he sees on the “Here Come the 1, 2, 3s” video. But he definitely recognized the songs, and, of course, they played his favorite, ‘No!, No!, No!”

Here’s what he looked like soon after waking up (my husband looking almost as sleepy):

Jason & Daddy at They Might Be Giants concert

Jason & Daddy at They Might Be Giants concert

And here are They Might Be Giants at the JiggleJam concert in Kansas City:

They Might Be Giants: Live in Kansas City

They Might Be Giants: Live in Kansas City

Leave a Reply

