How-to: Charlie and Lola Birthday Invitations

Here’s how to create the Charlie-and-Lola-style birthday invitations that I made for Jenna’s second birthday party.

Step One
I bought white folded 5 1/2 x 5 1/2 square cards and matching envelopes from paper-source.com.

Step Two

I drew a border similar to those found on Charlie and Lola title pages and scanned it. Using Photoshop, I added the party details to the border. You can download a blank version of the border here. The Charlie and Lola font (or at least a free, close approximation) is Bodiac.

Step Three

I printed the party details onto the inside of the card.

Step Four

In Photoshop, I decreased the size of the border (making it approximately 1 1/2 x 1 1/2 inches) and added the “Birthdays are my favorite …” text. I printed a sheet of 12 of these and cut out the small squares. I also rounded the corners using a paper punch.

Step Five

I purchased decorative paper in a pink paisley pattern for the “wallpaper” and cut it into rectangles to fit the card. I used a wood grain patterned paper cut into shorter rectangles for the “floor.” I glued these to the front of the card.

Step Six

In Photoshop, I took a picture of Lola and a picture of my daughter and added my daughter’s head to Lola’s body. I sized this to fit the card (making my daughter approximately 3 1/2 inches tall) and printed it onto 4×6 photo paper.

Step Seven

I cut out my daughter’s shape and glued it to the front of the card. Then I added the “Birthdays are my favorite …” square to the upper left of the card.

Step Eight

Place in envelopes and send!

5 thoughts on “How-to: Charlie and Lola Birthday Invitations

  1. Pingback: How-to: Charlie & Lola Birthday Party « Mommy Julee

  2. I just want to thank you for your thoughtfulness in placing so many of your ideas in template form on the internet to share with the world. My soon-to-be four year old daughter is getting a wonderful Charlie and Lola party in large part due to the help you have provided me. The invitations have turned our so well using the cupcake toppers for the front message next to my daughter’s face on Lola’s body. I’ve copied your layout with similar cardstock for the front and for the back I used the invitation frame on top of the pink paisley background. For decorations, I am making butterfly garlands with leftover cardstock along with tissue flower pom poms. We will keep it simple with pink milk, pink ice cream, and “pink berry cakes” (pink cupcakes) for treats, and a pink drink for the adults. For fun, we will make funny newspaper hats, foam eyeglasses decorated with stickers, and have a obstacle course race with hula hoops, moon ponies (from cardboard boxes) and an egg and spoon race, of course. Thank you thank you thank you. This will be such fun I think I’m more excited than my daughter!

    • Oh that sounds wonderful!!! I love the obstacle course idea. Your daughter is going to have an amazing birthday!
      Best wishes,
      Julee

Leave a Reply

