Pasta 101

Last week I attended a pasta-making class at Central Market. My favorite part: chocolate tortellini. Can you imagine the smiles on my kids faces if I served that for dinner?

Today I decided to try out my homemade pasta-making skills and briefly considered throwing a few teaspoons of Ghiradelli Cocoa Powder into my dough (hmm, chocolate and alfredo sauce?), but opted for the tomato paste instead.

Here’s a look at how it turned out:

I used this basic semolina pasta recipe and added 1 tablespoon of tomato paste. Instead of mixing by hand, I used a KitchenAid and then kneaded by hand for an additional 8-10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

