Wannabe S’mores

It’s summer, and there’s no shortage of articles, recipes and gorgeous images floating around about s’mores. I love s’mores but haven’t had one in years. When I lived in New York, there was a cafe by my apartment that served make-your-own s’mores, complete with a little pot of fire at your table. While not as authentic as a campside experience, I enjoyed it quite a bit. Maybe because I’m not the outdoorsy type. So with the influx of s’mores-related news of late, I started to think about introducing my preschoolers to the much-loved assemblage of chocolate, marshmallows and grahams. But then I always remember, oh yes, I have the children who can’t sit still in a restaurant, who reach over and spill the water, who usually end up with as much food on their clothing as in their mouths. At that point, I silently reprimand myself for even considering any combination of fire, sticks, marshmallows and my children. It is with this sense of fear and desire that I created today’s snack, the wannabe s’more:

Here’s how I made it:

  • Took one large graham cracker and divided it into 8 small squares.
  • Covered each with Nutella.
  • Placed a banana slice on top of each.
Leave a Reply

