Introducing New Art

My son does not like new things, so it was no surprise that the new prints I bought for his room were met with a suggestion to hang them in his sister’s room.  After a couple of weeks of resistance, during which they sat in the corner, facing the wall so that my son did not have to look at them, I tried a new approach. We were reading a story about airplanes, and then I brought out the pictures and pointed out the buttons, elevator-like doors and steering wheels in the spaceships. You might not see them, but Jason sure did. He continued to talk about them and add to my descriptions. After awhile, I asked where he thought we should put them. I was pretty much expecting the “in Jenna’s room” response, but, instead, he said “here” and pointed to the wall by his bed.

One thought on “Introducing New Art

Leave a Reply

