Photo Filters for the Desk-Bound

I’ve long been jealous of my husband’s iPhone. Not the phone. Not the slick design. Not the hundreds of apps. Ok, maybe a few of the hundreds of apps. I just love the effects he gets with photos by using lo-mob, picoli and other iPhone-only photo filters.

I’ve been searching for something similar online, on a website. I’m not on-the-go. I’m mostly stay-at-home: working, raising children and managing our family photos on a home computer. Archaic, I know. So, I’d like something that will quickly give my photos a retro aged, deeply saturated and futuristic look all at the same time. Ok, maybe not all at the same time.

I found one today that comes close to offering the hipster filtering effects of lo-mob and others: Rollip.com. And unlike the iPhone apps, Rollip lets you download a filtered image at the full resolution of the original image; unfortunately, that comes at a cost of $2.99 per 15 images. But the low-res versions are free.

If you know of a similar site, I’d love to hear about it.

5 thoughts on “Photo Filters for the Desk-Bound

  1. It’s odd that something like this doesn’t already exist!

    I found a script someone wrote that basically translates a photoshop tutorial for a lomo effect into its command-line alternative. It isn’t too far of a stretch to have it run on a webserver somewhere and process uploaded images. Sounds like a weekend project 🙂 I guess the hard part is finding how the effects are created and turning those into scripts.

  2. Pingback: Online Photo Filters … Finally « warmhotchocolate

Leave a Reply

