Wish List: Stella Style

I’m looking forward to the launch of the Stella McCartney’s kids line next week. Last year she had a collection at The Gap, which I loved but didn’t end up buying any of the pieces. My interest in seeing her new collection (and willingness to hand over my email address just to get sneak peek at the lookbook) got me thinking about how my likes don’t necessarily align with my budget. Since the collection isn’t available yet, I’m not sure what the price range is, but I’m going to guess that they’re a bit steeper than my typical purchases at Old Navy and Crazy 8.

After checking out the lookbook, I also realize what I love the most about Stella isn’t necessarily the individual pieces, it’s how she combines them. There is a quirkiness in her outfits that reminds me of how most young children pick out their clothes. It’s not about matching, looking cool, wearing the latest trends. In fact, I’m not even sure what it’s about. I have no idea what motivates Jenna to choose the things she chooses. For Jason’s birthday, she insisted on a pink shirt and orange tutu, something I never would have put together myself.

So maybe in my upcoming shopping trips for Jenna, I’ll try to channel a little Stella style. Maybe something like this:

Jenna’s Outfit: Zara Blouse ($12), Target Shorts ($4), Old Navy Tights ($5), Ralph Lauren Boots ($34)

Leave a Reply

