Daily Art: Paper Leaves

I think I was in a recycling mood today. I’ve been holding on to the recent Crewcuts and DWR catalogues with the idea that I would think up something crafty to do with them, and then I came across this great post on making kirigami leaves. They are much like snowflakes, which I also love making.

First, I cut the leaf snowflakes using the templates in the kirigami post and I glued them, along with some individual leaves, to sides of a paper bag that I cut into two pieces.

 

Next, I let Jenna paint the bags with shimmer tempera paint that I found at Michael’s recently. I mixed the red and orange together to create a bronzish color. And last, we added the word ‘Happy’ to each, creating pictures with built-in handles for hanging. We’ll be taking these to Grandma and Grandpa’s house as a Thanksgiving gift.

Leave a Reply

