Lens Love

What better time than the holiday season to go crazy with a new camera lens? My husband bought me a lensbaby for our anniversary this year, and I’ve spent the last month experimenting with its possibilities. All of the holiday lights, glittery objects and adorable kids that I’m surrounded by are certainly helping my results. Here are a few of my favorites so far:

One of the things I love most about the lensbaby is its ability to turn light into art. Even the simplest snapshot of a tangle of tree lights sitting on a table can look dramatic and beautiful with this lens.

I’m still learning how to manipulate the field of focus, but with a little trial and error, I’ve been able to capture some pretty cool still lifes.

I recently came across this article about creating your own bokeh. I made a heart-shaped bokeh and captured the above shots of fireworks (left), our Christmas tree (center), and Christmas lights along an outdoor shopping area (right).

Some of my favorite shots so far are among the first pics I took with the lensbaby. It was a bright and sunny weekend, we spent quite a bit of time outside, and the lensbaby captured the light perfectly.

5 thoughts on “Lens Love

  1. Pingback: Jason, My Lensbaby « warmhotchocolate

  2. OMG I LOVE LOVE LOVE the bokeh!
    I’m still new to my DSLR Nikon 3100…. there is so much I need to learn how to do. Heart Bokeh!!!!!

    • I love this effect too! I’m thinking about trying a star-shaped bokeh picture of our Christmas tree this year. So many possibilities …

Leave a Reply

