How Not to Make Green Pancakes

So despite my strong opposition to artificial food dyes, I can’t help but love all of the rainbow-inspired cakes and other treats showing up on all of the blogs lately. I especially liked the idea of making these rainbow pancakes. So much so that I apparently forgot the basics of color theory and, while making some whole wheat pancakes this weekend, decided to add a bit of yellow and blue dye (using my new natural food dyes) to my batter. The plan was to make some green pancakes and freeze them for St. Patricks Day later this week. As it turned, out yellow + blue + wheaty brown = split pea soup, not shamrock green.

The Batter:

The Pancakes:

Leave a Reply

