Favorite Breakfast Recipes

We’ve been eating fewer processed foods this year, trying to cook most of our meals from scratch. As a working mom, this isn’t always the most realistic pursuit, and I’ve been trying to find more recipes for meals that can be made in advance and stored in the fridge or freezer. Dinner is still a bit of a challenge, but I think I’ve got breakfast pretty much nailed with these three recipes.

Whole Wheat Yogurt Pancakes

This recipe has been adapted from Eating for Pregnancy and is higher in protein than most pancakes. Jason eats these almost daily so I almost always have a batch ready to go in the freezer.

Recipe

  • 8 ounces plain yogurt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons oil (I use coconut)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour

Whisk all of the wet ingredients together until smooth. Stir in the dry ingredients.

Heat oil or butter in a skillet and pour just under 1/4 cup for each pancake. Flip when the surface of the pancake begins to bubble.

Sometimes I double this recipe and then divide the extras into batches of 6-8 pancakes and store them in individual stacks in the freezer, so I can defrost only what I need.

Chocolate Banana Muffins

I use this recipe for banana muffins from Matha Stewart Living but use all whole wheat flour and mix in 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. These also store well in the freezer. When you’re ready to eat them, defrost in the microwave and then place in a toaster oven briefly for a nicely browned top.

Granola

This one is more for me than the kids, but I think it’s starting to win Jenna over. I use this basic recipe from Katie Did and add almonds and ground flax seed. It’s really simple to make and stores well in an air-tight container in the fridge for a couple of weeks.

Any ideas for dinner? I’d love to hear them.

One thought on “Favorite Breakfast Recipes

Leave a Reply

