Mixed Media Wreath DIY

This weekend we had a friend’s daughter over for the afternoon and I decided to organize a holiday craft activity to keep everyone entertained. This one took a bit of prep work, but it was definitely worth it.  Our friend’s daughter was incredibly creative, the “most creative person in her family,” as she explained to me,  and I think I got a peek into the future of what it will be like to work on arts and crafts with Jenna when she gets just a few years older. We had a great afternoon and I have to admit, I was more than a little psyched when she asked what I did “for work” and whether we did stuff like this at our house all the time.

Jenna and I started by cutting wreath shapes out of boxes and painting them apple green.

I prepped and assembled the wreath decorations: felt and fabric leaves, pom poms, pipe cleaners, ribbon (we also had a stash of green paper). You can pretty much use anything you have on hand – buttons, beads, yarn, etc.

We glued the decorations to the wreaths.

Once they were sufficiently covered, we let them dry. (We used A LOT of glue).

Jenna and I hung our wreaths on the office doors, and our new friend was very happy to take home hers home.

7 thoughts on “Mixed Media Wreath DIY

Leave a Reply

