Snow Globes

Sometimes I have to get a little sneaky to get my son to work on crafts with me, like this weekend, when I wanted to make snow globes. Old jars, water, oil and tiny snow-covered trees? Boring. Old jars, water, oil and Snow Troopers? Now I’ve got someone’s attention.

There are tons of how-to articles on making snow globes (we mostly followed the instructions inΒ this post). We went the simple route and used water with a little bit of baby oil, since that’s what we had on hand, but I’ve heard that glycerin yields better results.

We started by assembling our jars, glitter and modeling clay to secure the figures.

We glued a small piece of clay to the inside of the lid.

We put glue on the bottom of our figures and trees and pressed them into the clay. We let this dry for several hours.

We filled our jars with water and Β a couple of drops of oil and about 2 tablespoons of glitter.

We attached the lids and shook our jars to watch the snow fall. I still need to glue the lids to the jars. We were so excited that we sorta skipped over this step. Also, Jason’s snow trooper doesn’t like water, or so I’m told, so he only has snow (glitter) in his globe. Oh, and he mostly stays upside down. I’m just happy that Jason plays along, so I don’t mind any quirks along the way.

11 thoughts on “Snow Globes

  1. Pingback: where did my break go? T__T « lots of love

  2. Oh yay! What fun! I make jewelry, and picked up some teensy glass apothecary bottles, but was never sure how to make the suspension ‘liquid’ more viscous without having something that would get funky and moldy. Can’t wait to try this, and oddly enough, I have vegetable glycerine laying around (so funny… I’ve got it on hand for making juice for my ecig, but will come in handy for this!). I get mine online, but you can grab it at any walmart, I believe. Will try a tiny bottle with glitter, then graduate to snowglobes and terrariums. Thanks so much! FUN tutorial!
    Hugs & Hope,
    rachel of OddModicum
    http://www.OddModicum.etsy.com

  3. Ok, so my first attempt at snow globes was a success, I think! THANK YOU so much for the tip about glycerin… made all the difference in the ‘sloshiness’! I made some tiny ‘Awesome Sauce’ glitter snow globe necklaces with tiny apothecary bottles… here’s a photo… https://www.etsy.com/listing/172602459/liquid-awesome-sauce-tiny-bottle-snow?ref=shop_home_feat
    I’d love to do some with itty bitty miniatures inside, too!

    Hugs & Hope,
    rachel of OddModicum
    http://www.OddModicum.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

