Children’s Art Thank You Cards

January is nearly over and I’m a little embarrassed to admit that we’ve yet to send thank you cards to friends and relatives who gave gifts to J+J over the holidays. I’m not the only one, right?

With my trip behind me, I’ve committed to getting them in the mail this week, and today I made one big leap in the right direction: I made custom notecards out of Jenna’s recent art.

Here are a few examples:

Here’s how I made them:

  1. I selected 4 recent drawings and scanned them into the computer. I opened the files in Photoshop and cropped them to 4 x 4 inches (300 dpi).
  2. In Photoshop, I created a template based on the size of the notecards (the folded cards are 5 1/2 x 5 1/2 so my template was 5 1/2 x 11). I also set up a custom print size in the Page Set-up menu in the Print window.
  3. I centered the scanned drawing so that it would print along the bottom half of the page and added the text and a very light border. I had to print a couple of trial runs to get the positioning just right.
  4. Step 4 – writing and mailing. That’s the hard part …
7 thoughts on “Children’s Art Thank You Cards

  1. Have you seen the “Grafic Design For Nondesigners” from Paper Source?
    Also “Fun for Little Ones “Let’s Create Ideas in the Disney Family Fun Magazine?

    • I get the Family Fun mag, so I’ve seen those but I’ve never seen the Paper Source one. I’ll have to look. I love Paper Source – wish I had a store nearby.

  2. Yesterday I ran across a cute idea for the younger childs writing a message inside the card. You ask them, “Tell me about your picture” and you listen and write for them the message and they sign their name. Also a arts and craft web ‘Paper, Cut, Scissors.’

  3. Pingback: Having fun with Kid Art | Savannah Attic

Leave a Reply

