DIY Heart Patches

diy heart patches

I’m not sure why I continue to buy white pants for Jenna, but every Spring, I buy at least 3 pairs. I guess I like the ease of putting together outfits and the increased likelihood that if she picks out her own clothes, they’ll match. But it’s never long before the knees turn a permanent shade of dirt. This year, I’m trying to extend the life of her white pants, especially because it’s only April and two pairs have already become unwearable. I also think someone seems a bit messier this year.

I don’t sew, so these patches were super easy to make. I used felt and a lightweight cotton for the patches shown below, but the no-sew tape shows through a bit. For the next set, I’m going to use a heavier weight fabric for the top layer.

Step 1: Cut Heart Shapes Out of Fabric

Step 2: Bind Hearts Together With No-Sew Tape

Step 3: Attach Hearts to Pants with No-Sew Tape

4 thoughts on “DIY Heart Patches

  1. Having a great week-end and summer break so far. Thanks for the encouragement.
    I now have fresh joy..because my heart has been refreshed. J + J have the capacity to be a “sweet-smelling aroma..well pleasing to God.” Philippians 4:18. They shall always be fresh and flourishing. Just like their parents.
    The measure of a life is not its duration but its donation. -Corrie Ten Boom.
    “Rejoice greatly, O Daughter Zion! Shout, Daughter Zion! Your King is coming! Always hoping to bring out the best in you. You are familiar with the generousity of Jesus Christ.
    Happy Easter! Love, Aunt May

  2. Oh wow, I loved it!!! Maybe I will have the coordination to do it, who knows… I will try at some point!

    Thanks!

    • Believe me, if I can do it, anyone can. I usually stay pretty far away from anything involving fabric, but this was super easy.

  3. What a brilliant idea, I will do this to increase the life of some of my daughter’s trousers. Come to think of it she wrecked the bum on one white pair recently from sitting in a sandpit so she might get a big heart shaped patch on her bum too!!

Leave a Reply

