Favorite Summer Dessert: Fruit Pizza

My mom recently reminded me of my favorite dessert as a child: fruit pizza. I made one this morning for J+J as a surprise for when they get home from school.

It’s super easy to make and can be made with homemade sugar cookie dough or store-bought dough.

Step 1: Make the Cookie Crust

I used store-bought dough and pressed it into a pan and baked a little bit longer than the package instructions (about 15 minutes at 350 degrees).

Step 2: Make the Topping

I think the cream cheese topping is my favorite part. I mixed 1/2 container of whipped cream cheese (about 6 ounces) with 1/4 cup sour cream and 1/8 cup sugar. You can make it sweeter, but I find that the fruit and cookie dough provide enough sweetness.

Step 3: Top the Pizza

Once the cookie dough is completely cool, top the pizza with the cream cheese mixture. I added a fairly thick layer.

Step 4: Prep the Fruit

I think this would make a great 4th of July dessert with blueberries and raspberries, but today I had peaches, canned oranges, strawberries and raspberries on hand. You can pretty much use any fruit. Kiwi was always a favorite topping of mine as a child.

Step 5: Add the Fruit

I worked in circles from outside to inside, but you can arrange the fruit in any pattern you’d like. If J+J like this, I’ll probably try making it with them next and let them do the decorating step. Once all of the fruit has been added, I brushed a layer of lemon juice over the top.

Step 6: Chill and Serve

You can definitely eat this right away, and if the kids were home while I was making this that’s exactly what we would have done. But this is one of those desserts that tastes better the next day, so I recommend leaving it in the fridge for at least a few hours.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Favorite Summer Dessert: Fruit Pizza

    • Thanks. I never know what they’ll like or dislike – they tend to be a bit picky. But this was definitely a hit!

  1. Pingback: GP Recomenda: pizza de frutas para alegrar a criançada | | GarotaPrendada.com |

  2. Pingback: Peach and Blueberry Pizza « madelinenel

Leave a Reply

