Friday Favorites

It’s a bit hard to believe that we’re just now starting the weekend. It feels like it’s been one long weekend all week. I have no idea what we’ll do over the next couple of days to top the swimming, grilling and fireworks watching that we’ve packed into these last few days. Probably just more of the same.

Have you been reading the Work/Life Balance series over on A Cup of Jo this week? I find it fascinating to hear how other moms manage the work/kids thing, though it makes me a little sad to realize how many consider an hour or so with their kids each morning and evening ‘balanced.’ It reminds me of this article and the belief that working mothers can’t ‘have it all’ until work environments change to allow for flexibility around family schedules. I definitely agree.

A few other favorites from my week:

  • Love this series of recreated famous photographs.
  • I want these now.
  • Looking forward to downloading this new iPad magazine.
  • My favorite photos are often those that create beautiful compositions out of seemingly mundane subjects – like these, for example.
  • Calculate how many Legos it would take to recreate your house.
  • If you’re in the DFW area, my husband’s band is performing at The Curtain Club in downtown Dallas on Saturday night. Join us!!

Happy weekend!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

  1. One of the reasons that I jumped at the chance to relocate for my job to DFW (from Chicago) three years ago, was for the opportunity that it would give me to have more of a home life, and spend more time with my son.

    When I worked in Chicago, I had a 95 minute commute (each way) – I left for work before 5am, and got home after 7pm. Now, I have a 5 minute commute (I work on 377, right around the corner from Kroger Dr.) – we bought our house because it was so close to my office; gaining that extra 3 hours each day that I no longer commute is priceless!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    • A 5-minute commute is unheard of in DFW! That must be pretty nice! We moved here in 2007 and I kept my job in San Antonio and worked from home full-time while the kids were young. Last year I changed jobs, so now I have a little bit of a commute (30-40 min each way) but I also work from home 1-2 days a week. Overall, I feel pretty lucky.

      Hope you have a wonderful weekend too!

Leave a Reply

