Photo Transfer Self-Portrait


This craft is an incredibly easy way to help young children create self-portraits. Truth be told, I think Jenna had just as much fun coloring the photos as she did the canvases.

I started with a couple of canvases, photos that I printed on card stock (non-photo paper), and a charcoal pencil.

Using the charcoal pencil, I traced heavy outlines around the shapes in each of the photos.

Next, I placed the photo on top of the canvas so that the charcoal drawing side was against the canvas, and I used a regular pencil to quickly shade the entire backside of the photo. This transferred the outlines I had created to the surface of the canvas.

Once the photo outlines were transferred to the canvas, I let Jenna color the canvases.

3 thoughts on “Photo Transfer Self-Portrait

Leave a Reply

