Painting Patterns

This is a fun way to paint patterns with kids. I started by taping a “J” and a chevron pattern on some canvases, and then I let Jenna pile on the paint. At first she thought she was supposed to paint only on the tape, and it took a little convincing to get her to move the brush around the tape. But once she did, she didn’t want to stop. These ended up being some thickly painted canvases, and, after the paint dried (many hours later), it was pretty hard to peel the tape from the canvas.

9 thoughts on “Painting Patterns

  1. Great idea for little ones! I bought a big pad of paper that has strawberry shortcake drawings and “paint” right on the page, just add a wet brush and a 2 year old 🙂

  2. I Can find a the stuff but a kid to join so planning to turn into one.
    I love the way you shares this information.
    Are you graphic designer???
    Keep it up!

    • Thank you! I am a designer (of web/mobile applications) so I guess I do approach most things with a designer’s eye – including my children’s art work.

Leave a Reply

