DIY Magnetic Toy Case

Recently, I shared a post on Honest to Nod about a a magnetic toy case that I created. The idea was to create something that would make managing toys during road trips a bit easier. When I finished it, I realized there were all sorts of possibilities for what it could contain. This weekend, I decided to try a different variation of the magnetic toy case: a coloring journal.

Materials:

  • Wooden toy case (I purchased mine at Michaels)
  • Magnetic paint (I purchased Martha Stewart brand)
  • Masking tape
  • Magnetic tape
  • Sponge brush
  • Pad of paper
  • Set of Crayola Twistable crayons
  • Ribbon
  • Fabric glue

I started by taping the inside edges of the case and then covering the inside in magnetic paint. I applied 3 coats, letting each coat dry in between.

While the box was drying, I worked on making the crayon magnets. I cut a series of strips about the length of 2/3 of the crayon and then cut the strips vertically into 3 narrower strips. I attached a magnetic strip to the side of each crayon. For the paper, I placed 4 large strips on the back of the pad. I was using card stock paper and found that the pad weighed too much for the magnetic strips to hold it in place. I’m probably going to switch to a lighter paper or remove some of the paper to make it lighter.

I placed the crayons in one side of the box and the paper in the other. I also added a ribbon by gluing it with fabric glue to the inner edge of one side of the box.

4 thoughts on “DIY Magnetic Toy Case

Leave a Reply

