I Heart: Natural Baking Decorations

We eliminated artificial dyes from our diets almost two years ago. I sometimes think it would be ok to make exceptions on certain occasions, like at children’s birthday parties, but with young children, it’s hard to have rules that are sometimes enforced, sometimes not. My son is particularly black and white about this issue. When we go trick-or-treating, he asks each neighbor if there is dye in their candy before accepting it. Yes, we’re that family.

Our Christmas holidays have been equally un-colorful. In the past, I’ve relied on chocolate and white sprinkles and marshmallows (some brands are dye-free, some are not) for decorating cookies and gingerbread houses. But I recently I saw a new line of sugar sprinkles from Confection Craft, and the colors look so much richer than other all-natural decorations I’ve seen. I’m planning to order a set for the holidays. Bring on the color … and the cookies!

 

3 thoughts on “I Heart: Natural Baking Decorations

Leave a Reply

