Pink Pasta

all-natural pink pasta

I tried a new recipe for veggie burgers this weekend, and since I had extra beets on hand, I decided to try to dye some dry pasta pink. It wasn’t as easy as I expected, but here’s how it went down:

I started by cutting one large beet into cubes. I put the beets in a pot of water, brought it to a boil and then added the whole wheat pasta bows. Once the pasta was almost al dente, I turned off the heat and let the beets and bows soak for just over an hour. At first I didn’t think the pasta was ever going to absorb the beet color, but after giving up and going to the park, I returned and found a pot full of vibrantly colored bows.

13 thoughts on “Pink Pasta

    • That’s why I stopped the cooking before it was actually done, so it could soak in the color longer. It was still a little more ‘done’ than I would have liked – but my daughter didn’t mind at all!

  1. Love this idea. I’m going to try it for our family Valentine’s Day dinner. I’m thinking I’ll have to go with an alfredo sauce though, in order for the color combination to stay relatively pretty. Is your little heart at the bottom made out of beet? You’ve truly inspired me today; thanks!

    • Yes, the heart is a beet. In fact, it’s a raw beet, but that didn’t stop my daughter from eating it. Pink AND heart-shaped – I guess she couldn’t resist. Hope your family enjoys their Valentine’s Day dinner!!

  2. Pingback: Renkli makarna «

  3. Pingback: {Inspiración} 20 bocados para San Valentín | Cosas Molonas | Blog de Inspiración & DIY |

  4. Pingback: 21 Must Have Valentine's Day Recipes | The First Year Blog

    • Yes, the pasta does have a beet taste. I served it with an alfredo sauce to mask the taste a bit. My daughter and I like beets, so we liked the taste. I can’t remember now if my son ate the pasta too, but I have a feeling he probably didn’t. Good luck – I’m thinking about trying it again this year!

  5. Pingback: 25 Valentine's Day Recipes for the Whole Day - The Love Nerds

Leave a Reply

