Classroom Gift: Secret Santa Starter Kit

Great idea for classroom gifts or craft: create a santa beard

I signed up to bring gifts for the goody bags for my son’s Christmas party this year. I’m not a big fan of bags full of plastic toys, and I think most readers of this site know my policy on candy containing artificial dyes, so I mostly signed up for this task to provide an alternative to the usual goody bag fare.

As I walked the aisles of Target, I realized that non-plastic, non-candy goodies weren’t so easy to come by. But eventually the idea of creating a “Santa Disguise Kit” popped into my mind, and I set out to find materials for creating a santa beard.

These were super easy and inexpensive to make. Here are the materials I used:

make a santa beard: materials

The stretchy string was purchased at Michaels but everything else can be found at the grocery store. If you don’t have a hole punch, you can make a small incision with scissors to thread the string through.

Here are the steps to create the beards:

how to make a santa beard

I cut out the top section of the plate and then folded it in half to cut out the mouth shape. Next, I used the paper punch to cut small circles into each side of the beard and threaded the string though the holes, tying each end in a knot. I applied glue to the paper plate in sections and stretched each cotton ball a bit before gluing it to the plate.

Once the beards were complete, I packaged them up in lunch-sized bags and attached some instructions for playing “secret santa” at home.

secret santa starter kit: make a santa beard as a classroom gift or craft

Oh, and I also asked Jenna to model my design. She is one serious secret Santa:

secret jenna santa

One thought on “Classroom Gift: Secret Santa Starter Kit

  1. What a “Good Way’ to make good friends, and to be a good friend.
    This lets your friends at school know that someone cares about them.
    Hoping and knowing your gift will show affection to their parents as well.
    Blessings to you during your winter break! See you soon! Aunt May

Leave a Reply

